Home / Sports / In-form Roos claim fourth spot
Mundaring beat Mt Helena by 63 points to grab fourth spot on the Hills Football Association ladder. Picture: BRIAN PALLISTER

In-form Roos claim fourth spot

WHILE Mt Helena took control early in a game where fourth position on the ladder was up for grabs it was Mundaring who went on to win 20.14 (134) to 11.5 (71).

In the first quarter Mike Stampfer had two goals in quick succession on the board for Mt Helena.

But Mundaring started to settle and went to the first break four points down 3.1 (19) to 2.3 (15).

A couple of positional changes by Roos coach Adam A’Vard paid immediate dividends and Mundaring looked like a totally different team.

Tom and Joe Cowton were getting plenty of the footy around the ground, which released Tyson Hamling to play a more forward role.

Hamling and Keiron Lipman were finding their range and putting goals on the board.

Shawn Leeks and Trevor Daw were doing their best to keep the Roos out but could not halt the flood of goals.

Scoring eight goals to one Mundaring were 10.8 (68) to 4.1 (25) giving them a 43-point lead.

Lions coach John McCole shuffled his team in an attempt to create a spark sending Dean James, Steve Cockman and Jack Holley forward but the move was not enough to halt the Roos. James Hartley in his 150th game was starting to find form in the ruck.

The Lions could not peg the lead back and the Roos 15.9 (99) to 8.3 (51) extended their lead by five points.

Injuries started to play a part in the game leaving both benches down on numbers.

Lions vice captain and 100-game player Michael Hine was out with a torn hamstring.

Tom Cowton limped forward for Mundaring.

But in the end the Lions had no real answers and the in-form Roos moved into fourth spot on percentage over Mt Helena.

The best players for Mundaring were Tom Cowton, Tyson Hamling and Kieron Lipman and for Mt Helena Shawn Leeks, Zachary Swift and Dean James.

Kieron Lipman scored five goals for Mundaring, Tom Cowton (4), Tyson Hamling (3), Joe Cowton and Rhys O’Dea (2), while Connor Musto, Matt Pittaway, Dave Smith and Matt Jones all scored one goal each.

For Mt Helena Dean James, Mike Stampfer, Luke Eley all scored two goals while Steve Cockman, Aaron Rivers, Haydn Watters, Zac Smithand and Jack Holley scored one goal each.

By Brian Pallister

About Anita

Anita Mcinnes received a highly commended in the 2009 WA Media Awards suburban section for her reporting. Two of her sons were born at Swan District Hospital and for many years she was a partner in a small business, which operated in the Gingin-Muchea-Bullsbrook area. As a mature age student Anita studied journalism at Curtin University before working in Busselton, Dunsborough and Rockingham with West Regionals. She says the best part of her job is meeting eastern suburb residents and visiting the many attractions in the area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *