Home / General News / Local government nominations now open

Local government nominations now open

By Claire Ottaviano

LOCAL Government elections are open from now until September 9, with many across the eastern and Perth Hills region voicing their intent to nominate well ahead of time.

Local government elections are held every two years, with the next round on October 16.

In the City of Swan there are seven vacancies across five wards.

In the Pearce ward, Mayor Kevin Bailey and Cr Patty Jones are both re-nominating for their seats and are so far up against, David Willer, Shaun Hughes, Aaron Bowman, Rob Howes and Jesse J Fleay.

In the Whiteman ward, John McNamara’s seat is open with residents Michelle Maynard, Haeden Miles and Dave Knight intending to nominate.

Crs Andrew Kiely and Jennifer Catalano’s terms are expiring in 2021 leaving two spots open in Altone with Tracy Hopkins, Prabhjot Singh Bhaur and former councillor Peter Lyndon-James expressing interest.

Only one candidate has so far emerged for Cr Charlie Zaninno’s  Swan/Gidgegannup ward open seat, Midland Oval advocate Patrick Irwin.

Cr Claire Scanlan is the only councillor known to not be renominating for her position.

At present only recently resigned Bassendean councillor John Gangell and Sarah Howlett of the Midland Junction Collective have put themselves forward for Scanlan’s Midland/Guildford seat.

In the City of Kalamunda, Mayor Margaret Thomas and Crs Lisa Cooper, Lesley Boyd, Geoff Stallard, Dylan O’Connor and Cameron Blair’s terms are ending.

All but Cr Blair intend to renominate.

So far five candidates have put their hands up for the six seats available; Kellie Miskiewicz, Rachel Boyes, Simon Parke, David Hearne and Peter O’Connor.

As reported in No re-nominations at council (Echo News, July 30), all six councillors up for re-election in the  Shire of Mundaring  have indicated they will not be nominating again for their positions.

Seven have so far put their names forward for the spots; Karen Beale, Paige McNeill, Daniel Hanley, Melanye Wawrick, Trish Cook, Neridah Zlatnik, Sharon Milton.

For more information or to nominate visit, www.elections.wa.gov.au/elections/local

Please note names above were known candidates at time of print.

About The Editorial Team

Echo News gives readers an alternative to other media outlets in WA and enjoys a very high rate of readership in its distribution area. Our Echo News team are a small group of devoted individuals who work hard to give the local community an easy to read, yet intelligent mix of local community stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *