Home / General News / Hasluck shifts north

Hasluck shifts north

THE Federal seat of Hasluck will grow by about 15,000 electors from August under new boundary changes.

Aveley, Baskerville, Belhus, Brabham, Brigadoon, Dayton, Ellenbrook, Henley Brook, Herne Hill, Millendon, The Vines, Upper Swan and West Swan, and the balance of Middle Swan and Red Hill will move across from the seat of Pearce while Bennett Springs and Whiteman will be absorbed into Hasluck from Cowan.

While Hasluck gains in the north, it will lose in the south with the suburbs of Beckenham, Kenwick and Maddington going into the seat of Burt and Maida Vale, Wattle Grove, Forrestfield and Welshpool going into the seat of Swan.

The formally Pearce suburbs of Chittering, Gingin, Northam, Toodyay and York, Bullsbrook, Walyunga National Park and Avon Valley National Park are being transferred to the seat of Durack.

The AEC said “a significant reduction in the number of electors in the Division of Pearce was needed for the numerical parameters required by the Electoral Act to be met”.

The federal electoral division changes will apply from Monday August 2.

About The Editorial Team

Echo News gives readers an alternative to other media outlets in WA and enjoys a very high rate of readership in its distribution area. Our Echo News team are a small group of devoted individuals who work hard to give the local community an easy to read, yet intelligent mix of local community stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *