The Mundaring Hills Open Studios team were the recipients of the inspirational volunteer award.

Hills and Wheatbelt community heroes honoured

Hills and Wheatbelt outstanding community heroes were honoured during the Australia Day weekend.
February 1, 2024

SHIRE of Mundaring celebrated its outstanding community heroes at a citizenship ceremony and citizen awards event held on Australia Day at the Boya Community Centre.

Shire President Paige McNeil congratulated all award winners, saying their generosity and desire to enhance our community were a true reflection of the spirit of these awards.

“Shire of Mundaring is incredibly fortunate to have such passionate and dedicated people contributing to our strong, connected and supportive community,” she said.

2024 Citizen Award winners

Shanti Wilbers – Access Mundaring

Over seven impactful years with the Mundaring toy library, Shanti’s leadership has been instrumental. As a former member turned driving force, she dedicated five years to the committee and the past three as president.

Shanti’s strategic vision and ‘Dreaming Big’ project secured significant funds, enabling extensive renovations and the addition of inclusive offerings to the toy catalogue which has transformed the toy library into a vital community hub, fostering strong bonds among local families.

Mundaring Hills Open Studios Organising Team – Inspirational Volunteer Award (Group)

Mundaring Hills Open Studios (MHOS) holds an annual art trail event in which local participating artists open their studios to the public.

This vibrant annual art event, now in its 13th year attracted 4000 visitors and showcased 65 artists across 37 studios, generating $400,000 in art sales.

MHOS is a self-funded initiative with a dedicated team of 12 volunteers who have collectively contributed thousands of hours to deliver this exceptional event which promotes Mundaring as a thriving art and cultural destination.

The organising team 2023 includes Silvana Ferrario, Liz Berry, Jenny Kerr, Melissa De Winter, Denise Bending, Neil Elliot, Julie Smith, Yvonne Wadley, Stacy Gordoll, Ian Kay, Craig McKeough and Nicola Constant.

Long Service Awards

Tom Burbidge has served as the secretary of the Mundaring Residents and Ratepayers Progress Association for the past decade.

His extensive involvement in the scout movement spans decades in roles from scout leader to treasurer, contributing specialised communications knowledge.

Tom continues to support the local community, assisting older residents with equipment issues and setup. With a 45-year history as a business owner, Tom’s commitment extends to various organisations, making him a selfless contributor who has significantly enriched the Mundaring community.

As a dedicated advocate for the environment and various causes in the shire, Jenny Johnson has been actively involved with numerous environmental groups such as Jane Brook Catchment Group, Friends

of the Bridle Trail, Brookside Park, Falls Park, and Wedgetail Reserve.

Her commitment extends to membership in the Parkerville Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade, Eastern Hills Wildflower Society, and Mundaring and Hills Historical Society.

As a past shire councillor of 10 years, Jenny passionately works on advisory committees for Heritage and Culture.

The Shire of York’s Australia Day celebrations for 2024 kicked off with a breakfast barbecue on Forrest Oval at the recreation and convention centre.

A flag raising ceremony was conducted by York District High School’s 2024 head boy Angus Jones and student Indiana Astle and Aboriginal representative River Cummings.

Ballardong Noongar Elder Audrey Narkle-Nettle opened the formalities by delivering a Welcome to Country. Citizen of the year was Rachel Hayes and senior citizen of the year was Dianne Baker,

The active citizenship group award went to York Volunteer Fire and Emergency Services, junior sports start of the year was Kai Harries and senior sports star was awarded to Vicki Reynolds.

THE City of Kalamunda has given out five citizenship awards at this year’s ceremony.

Three citizen of the year awards were given out, with Danielle McCormick, Sean Winter, and David Saunders receiving the accolade.   

Young citizen of the year award went to Kaitlyn Sin and senior citizen of the year was awarded to Sandra Hales.


Privately owned, proudly independent local news service.

ALL IMAGES & WORDS © 2023 Echo Newspaper
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram