Forrestfield is named the overall winning team for 2024.

Hills Grandslam comes to Midland

A total of 28 tennis teams were up to play despite the scorching weekend temperature.
April 24, 2024

THE final Hills Grandslam event for 2024, Wimbledon, was played in unseasonably hot conditions on Sunday, April 7 at Midland Lawn Tennis Club.

The green keeper had cut the grass to 8mm as per the requirement for Wimbledon grass courts and the majority of the 112 players donned white attire for the day, another Wimbledon tradition.

A total of 28 teams competed in seven divisions.

In the Westminster division the winning team was Deucebags comprised of players Drew Benporath, Lee Benporath, Shelby Tranchita and Keri Benporath with Forrestfield (Andres Arevalo, Andres Felipe Arevalo, Audrey Tuckey and Puna Rere) the runners up.

Cannot Be Serious made up of players Mark O’Donnell, Uman Gambir, Anne Miller and Elena Holt, won the Kensington division with Restrung (Patrick Jebb, Tom Jebb/Patirick Rowland, Donna Jebb/Mandy Campbell and Sandra Rourke) the runners up.

Ray’s Rebels (Lee Pearson, Ray Barker, Melika Soltermann and Harriet Robertson) won the Mayfair division with Bayswater (Zac Lofts, Surabh Nair, Ashlienne Zorancich and Vicki Leunig) the runners up.

The Chelsea division winners were Kiss My Ace (Raghu Hanjumarah, Vien Cao/Ted Greay, Bec Bowness and Dana Taylor) with Lucky Star (Thai Trieu, Jim Maureau, Mali Jitkamheang and Rina Ecclestone) the runners up.

In the Soho division team Choice Property Group (Phil Calpakdjian, Chris Calpakdjian, Deb Dessauvagie and Maddie Smith) won with Beach Bums (Kris Collett, Ibrahim Aliu, Wendy Lewis and Lee Humphries as runners up.

The Friendly Forries (David Camari, Lee Dallow, Maureen Deal and Kaye Austic) won the Knightsbridge division with The Habaneros (Aaron Whittred, Justin Myles, Ha Le Davis and Tania Blaine) runners up.

Wembley division was won by team Trying Our Best (Adrian Manesco, Bill Kerr, Anne Kerr, Cora Brown/Marg Weir) with Racquet Renegades (Colin Tierney, Daniel Harris, Anne Simmonds and Rachel Gguric) the runners up.

The most valuable Lady player for 2024 is Harriet Robertson from Ray’s Rebels.

The most valuable Gentleman player for 2024 is Andres Arevalo from Forrestfield.

The overall winning team for 2024 is Forrestfield and the Champion Hills Grandslam Tennis Club for 2024 is Forrestfield Tennis Club.

Privately owned, proudly independent local news service.

ALL IMAGES & WORDS © 2023 Echo Newspaper
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram