Jackson McLachlan, Jesse Turner and Aidan Clarke at the Swan Districts Football Club medal night. Picture: Blake Parry/The Sports Photo

Jesse Turner wins second Swan medal

During Swan Districts' 99 seasons in the WAFL only 11 players have won back-to-back Swan medals previously.
October 5, 2023
Chris Pike

JESSE Turner’s stocks continue to rise in the ranks of the Swan Districts Football Club after being rewarded for another outstanding WAFL season by winning the Swan medal for the second straight season.

The Swan medal night was held a few days after the Swan Districts’ reserves team celebrated winning their first premiership since 2006.

By the end of the evening, Turner had joined elite company by winning consecutive Swan medals as the fairest and best winner in the Swan Districts’ league team.

In the 99 seasons that Swan Districts has competed in the WAFL competition, only 11 players have won back-to-back Swan medals previously.

The last player to do it was Matt Riggio in 2015 and 2016, and prior to that it was Josh Roberts, Travis Edmonds, Joel Cornelius, Gerard Neesham, Keith Narkle, Bill Walker, Haydn Bunton Jr, Keith Slater, Joe Pearce and George Krepp.

Through nothing but sheer hard work, Turner has turned himself into the fittest and hardest running player in the competition in recent years and he’s made the wing his own at Swan Districts.

He was already the reigning fairest and best winner and made the team of the year in four of the previous five seasons, but he continues to find ways to improve.

There was significant improvement in his contested marking and overall contested ball winning ability in 2023, and his kicking especially going inside-50 was at career-best levels.

He ended up the league’s leading possession winner with 29.3 a game with 10 matches of 30 or more touches while earning team of the week nods 10 times to book in another team of the year slot.

Now he has added a second Swan medal to his collection having collected 133 votes for his performances throughout the season.

Victorian recruit and key on-baller Jackson McLachlan  was runner-up in Swan medal voting, claiming 98 votes after a stellar first season in the WAFL.

Eight further votes back was last year’s runner-up and WAFL team of the year member Aidan Clarke who was at his destructive best despite an early hamstring injury in the 2023 season.

Tom Edwards continued his emergence as one of the most exciting and dangerous forwards in the competition to win the Ted Holdsworth memorial award by kicking by 31 goals for the 2023 season.

Lawson Humphries had a year to remember and was named the rookie of the year to claim the RA Newbey award.

That was just the start of his awards for the evening with the 20-year-old not only playing in the reserves premiership triumph, but he was named the fairest and best winner of the reserves team to win the FA Bonney Sweetapple memorial award.

Mitch Bain won the competition’s fairest and best award in the reserves and to add to his Prendergast medal and the premiership, he was runner-up for the reserves award to claim the DC Goddard memorial award.

Third-place in the reserves went to Max Chipper while Ethyn Kane received the encouragement award.

In the colts Chayse Martinson was tremendously impressive and was named the fairest and best for the season to win the EJ McManus award.

Luke Kelly was runner-up in fairest and best voting followed by Riley Hardeman while Lewis Zolnier-Owens claimed the encouragement award.

The best club person for 2023 went to Reg Connors who claimed the PJ Bright memorial award while the Joe Pearce courage memorial award was a popular and emotional decision to give it to the late Ken Ball.

Privately owned, proudly independent local news service.

ALL IMAGES & WORDS © 2023 Echo Newspaper
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram