Swan View have booked a place in the Hills Football Association preliminary final after defeating Gidgegannup in the first semi final.

Swan View through to preliminary final

After a see-sawing game Swan View and Gidgeganup were deadlocked on 68 points each at the end of normal time.
August 31, 2023
Brian Pallister

THE first Hills Football Association semi final between Swan View and Gidgeganup went into extra time after the scores were deadlocked on 68 points each at the end of normal time.

After goals to each side in the last minute of extra time a Kane Higgins’ goal from 45m out gave the Swans’ a 11.14 (80) to 11.8 (74) victory.

In the first the Bulldogs were quick out of the blocks with four first quarter goals.

Tim Tanner was proving a handful around goals while the Swans couldn't convert from six attempts.

Jarrad Young and Liam Marriott were picking up multiple possessions around the stoppages, Cam Hore marked strongly in defence while Andrew Styles seemed unattended on a wing.

The Swans managed to reverse the first quarter trend as they kept Gidgegannup goalless while kicking four of their own, to take a two-point lead into the main break.

Joseph Butler and Harlee Fryer started to get on top in the Swans backline.

Josh Holingum showed the form that won him the Benjamin Seabrook medal while being well supported by Raniera Carpenter.

Then in the third quarter it was Gidgegannup’s turn to outscore the Swans four goals to one.

Joe Hilton was given the job on Josh Holingum to try and curb his influence.

Dylan Cahill and Tim Tanner goaled taking the Bulldogs to a 15-point lead for the start of the last quarter.

The first 10 minutes were pretty much a scoreless battle.

The Bulldogs managed the first for the quarter extending their lead beyond 20 points.

Jackson Ryan went down with a game-ending knee injury pushing Haiden Michaelson into the ruck.

Stevie Smith was sent to Tim Tanner and Boe Hyatt pushed between Joe Hilton and Josh Holingum in an attempt to block the tag.

Swan View changed it up to kick the next four goals to tie the scores at full time before the game went into extra time.

At the Hills Football Association awards the Benjamin Seabrook medallist (fairest and best) was won by Swan View player Josh Holingum.

The President's medallist (runner up fairest and best) was awarded to Pickering Brook’s Steven Caccetta and the Mundaring Bendigo Bank leading goal scorer with 101 goals was John Armstrong from Pickering Brook.

Privately owned, proudly independent local news service.

ALL IMAGES & WORDS © 2023 Echo Newspaper
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram